The Script – Breakeven

It has been plaguing my thoughts for the passed couple of hours. Then I stumbled across this song this morning, and couldn’t help but double back at how clearly’ it spoke to me. I’ll share the lyrics with you shortly.

I would like to say how glad I am that You’re doing as well as You are. You make a stethoscope look cool, lying on the left like that. I miss You, and yet I can’t bring myself to contact You. I want my friend back, but what right do I have, seeing as I’m the one that pulled the plug on it all?
I say a prayer for You every chance I get, which is a whole lot :) and in the same breathe ask God to steady me each time, lest I make a stupid mistake and make a fool of myself. Hubris would have a field day at my expense, so no. I’ll hold my peace.

You are looking well, and I’m grateful for that.
They are all happy thoughts, from the stolen kiss in the isle of Uchumi, to the ruse of sitting in Your lap while You tell me a story, on condition that I am a good girl :)
Your genius rep is crossing borders, and I smile.

I shall take it one day at a time. I want the best for You, I needed to say that.
A bientot Mon Cher

and for those lyrics… :)

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayed to a God that I don’t believe in
‘Cause I got time while she got freedom
‘Cause when a heart breaks, no it don’t breakeven

Her best days will be some of my worst
She finally met a man that’s gonna put her first
While I’m wide awake she’s no trouble sleeping
‘Cause when a heart breaks, no it don’t breakeven, even, no

What am I suppose to do
When the best part of me was always you and
What am I suppose to say
When I’m all choked up and you’re okay

I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces

They say bad things happen for a reason
But no wise words gonna stop the bleeding
‘Cause she’s moved on while I’m still grieving
And when a heart breaks, no it don’t breakeven, even, no

What am I gonna do
When the best part of me was always you
And what am I suppose to say
When I’m all choked up and you’re okay

I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces
(One’s still in love while the other one’s leaving)
I’m falling to pieces
(‘Cause when a heart breaks, no it don’t breakeven)

You got his heart and my heart and none of the pain
You took your suitcase, I took the blame
Now I’m tryna make sense of what little remains, oh
‘Cause you left me with no love and no love to my name

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayed to a God that I don’t believe in
‘Cause I got time while she got freedom
‘Cause when a heart breaks, no it don’t break
No it don’t break, no it don’t breakeven, no

What am I gonna do
When the best part of me was always you
And what am I supposed to say
When I’m all choked up and you’re okay

I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces
(One’s still in love while the other one’s leaving)
I’m falling to pieces
(‘Cause when a heart breaks, no it don’t breakeven)

Oh, it don’t breakeven, no
Oh, it don’t breakeven, no
Oh, it don’t breakeven, no

till next time,
easy does it :)

10 thoughts on “The Script – Breakeven

  1. Dear Walk, no no no. Rubbish all fondness towards him, For while you lack mastery of firmness, a whiff of your longing, and he will swoosh in to entangle you into another mess. If you cannot be firm yet, give no fondness of thought.

  2. Speechless…in a good way. Never apologize for loving or caring, even if its in the past, its a real part of you. You’re only prayer should be “God guide my heart, protect it” and He will!

  3. Been ages…
    But TheScript are on heavy rotation as i write this out as well!!
    I “feel” your post Walker…
    Indeed, i am even more embarrased about a certain set of mojitoes…
    Sheesh!
    SmileHardWhenItComes!

  4. I saw him again…but for a moment. I’d just wrapped up a gig, and there he was…in his neat ensemble, looking every bit as suave as I remember him…sigh…and then he was gone.

Leave a Reply

