Mother…

She’s my best friend and doubles as my biggest critic, whether it’s my outfit, or my choice in men, even my hair. It makes her day when I let her pick out my outfit
“Mom, here’s two dresses, which one do you think I should wear?”
Makes her feel involved at times like these when I can buy my own clothes, fuel the car, and go out on the town, without asking her for a shilling.

I’ve been toying with the idea of moving out of my parents place for quite some time now…(yes, I still stay with them, Miss Goodie-two-shoes like that)
only for her to walk into the living room, where I’m seated, trying to drink a litre of water in the hope that it will give me some relief from a nasty hang-over, brought on by an irresponsible night of drinking.

We get talking, she points out all my flaws(and my poor financial management – some days I will ask her for kitty for the week; I am working on learning how to work well with money) I retaliate with “I’m not a child anymore” kinda talk.

Finally, after the tempers are done flaring, I come to a sober conclusion that I should ditch my nocturnal life for a while, make Mom happy, then hopefully after I’ve made it to the Idols final, and won the Sony BMG contract and a cool $80,000, I can humbly inform the parents that I’d like to move house.

Say a prayer for me, and her.
Till next time, easy does it.

Posted in Mom

One thought on “Mother…

  1. She too needs prayers. The small talk around town is not that good. But I guess you know that! You are your mother’s daughter.
    Encourage her to find the Lord.

Leave a Reply

