What are you talking about? (2)

‘Those who are careful about what they say protect their lives…’ Proverbs 13:3

After failing in business, Paul Galvin attended an auction of his own company. He was ‘down’ but he wasn’t ‘out!’ With his last $750 he bought back the department which later became Motorola! How’s that for a comeback story? The Bible says, ‘In…prosperity be joyful, but in… adversity consider [examine it and see what you can learn]…God has appointed the one as well as the other…’ (Ecclesiastes 7:14 NKJV). Whenever we face new challenges like changing careers, going back to University or starting a new relationship, our old programming kicks in and tells us we’re not equal to the task. Look out! The Bible says, ‘Those who are careful about what they say protect their lives …whoever speaks without thinking will be ruined’ (Proverbs 13:3 NCV). The wonderful thing about being the person God created you to be, is that He pre-programmed you to handle new situations, to change and to grow. Don’t build a case against yourself by listening to old voices without or within, or speaking words that undermine your confidence. Doing something you’ve never done before usually involves an anxiety-induced learning curve that follows along these lines: ‘There’s no way I can do this…I suppose I can try…I’m doing it, but not very well…I’m still doing it but I’m scared…I’m doing better…Oops, I made a mistake, guess I can’t do this after all…Maybe I’ll try again…I’m not doing much better this time…I’ll give it one more shot…Hey, I’m doing pretty good…I can do this!’ The Bible says you’ll ‘…be rewarded by how [you] speak.’ (Proverbs 18:20 NCV), so turn all those ‘I can’ts’ into ‘I cans’ and get your self-talk in sync with the Scriptures.
http://www.ucb.co.uk/index.cfm?itemid=88&testdate=23%20Dec%202008

till next time,
easy does it 🙂
Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

