God’s got you covered!

‘I will give it into your hand.’ Joshua 8:18

Before going into battle God said to Joshua: ‘…”Stretch out the spear that is in your hand toward Ai, for I will give it into your hand.”‘ It’s amazing how courageous you become when you know God’s got you covered. When you know He’s behind you, you can say, ‘No weapon formed against me will prevail’ (Isaiah 54:17). Remember as a child how secure you felt in a fight, knowing your big brother or sister was behind you? Well, God is backing you up! The problem is, we say all sorts of things without first checking to find out if God’s behind us.

When satan says, ‘…”Jesus I know, and Paul I know; but who are you?”‘ (Acts 19:15 NKJV), you must know two things:

a) that you are in right standing with God

b) that it’s His fight as well as yours. Jesus said, ‘”…Whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven”‘ (Matthew 18:18 NIV). There must be agreement in both realms. Jesus taught us to pray, ‘…your will be done on earth as it is in heaven’ (Matthew 6:10 NIV), because if it’s not approved where He is, it’s not approved where you are either. Your confidence comes from knowing you’re operating according to God’s will. The Bible calls us ‘labourers together with God’ (1 Corinthians 3:9), so don’t go off and do your own thing. Don’t try moving anything the Lord doesn’t want moved, or raising anybody from the dead except the Lazarus He calls forth. We do on earth, only what we know He’s declared to be His will in heaven. That way we know we’re covered. http://www.ucb.co.uk/word_for_today

Do you catch yourself wanting to do all these things(shopping, visiting that sick buddy, running that errand, hollering back at that pretty young thing, going to BHH, etc)…and you conveniently forget to bring God on-board from the time you breathe that first breath when you awake from your sleep? I catch myself thinking about people who died in their sleep….did they wake up on the other side, hoping to be alive only to realise that it’s not like that?!

Some weeks ago…I was rearing to go…covering the family in the blood of the Lamb, speaking His promises into our lives, calling on God’s angels to come into my every situation and help me accomplish what needed to be done, but most importantly to defend me against the ‘firey darts of the Enemy…that energy was dwindling as I nursed this cheeky idea most recently.
I didn’t put too much energy in getting things to work, they just did, and I was comfortable like that because I know He has my back.
My concern now is the fact that there’s this one activity I would like to go alone…and a part of me feels content in assuming that God’s got me… only for that sweet white tiny angel perching on my left shoulder, smacking me over my head and saying…

  “I have hahad you Yvonne, quit toying withthe idea otherwise something is bound to go horribly wrong”

The scary thing is she (tiny white yvonne-look-alike-angel percheing on my shoulder) has over the years, always been right… and she’s generous with the  “I told You so” line.
So I guess… there goes my cheeky idea…out the ‘proverbial window’

Kinda gutted to have to do the right thing…sometimes, doing the wrong thing usually feels so good…
Oh well, I’ll probably ‘kubuza buza’ with working out at the gym, holding my peace at work, and listening better.
Till next time,
Easy does it 🙂

2 thoughts on “God’s got you covered!

Leave a Reply

