Learn to be content (2)

‘…I have learned the secret of being content…’ Philippians 4:12

Michael Drosnin wrote a book about a man who wanted more wealth, so he built one of the biggest financial empires of his day. He wanted more pleasure, so he paid for the most glamorous women money could buy. He wanted more adventure, so he set air speed records, built and piloted the world’s most unique aircraft. He wanted more power, so he acquired political clout that was the envy of senators. He wanted more glamour, so he owned film studios and courted stars. Drosnin tells how this man’s life ended: ‘He was a figure of gothic power, ready for the grave. Emaciated, only 120 pounds stretched over his six-foot-four-inch frame…thin scraggly beard that reached its way onto his sunken chest, hideously long fingernails in grotesque yellow corkscrews …Many of his teeth were black, rotting stumps. A tumour was beginning to emerge from the side of his head…innumerable needle marks…Howard Hughes was an addict. A billionaire junkie.’ So here’s the question: If Hughes had pulled off one more deal, made one more million and tasted one more thrill, would it have been enough? The illusion of gratitude is that we will experience it more, if we get more! No, making sure a child gets everything they want destroys their initiative and dulls their sense of gratitude and contentment. Don’t you find it interesting that the man who wrote, ‘I have learned the secret of being content’ also wrote, ‘In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you’ (1 Thessalonians 5:18)? You cannot make yourself a more grateful or contented person, but you can pray for it and open your heart to it.
http://www.ucb.co.uk/word_for_today

I didn’t get round to buying myself those outfits, however I did have one of those ‘Cinderella’ moments again last night…I like the way he holds my one hand in his, and the other wrapped around me to rest on the mid-area of my back, somewhat firm, somewhat intentional, almost as if he was saying ‘I don’t mean to let you go just as long as this song is playing…’
I’m a happy camper
I get to honour my pledge to a friend’s wedding arrangements this evening, do some window shopping over my lunch break and then meet up with an expectant mother of a girlfriend and chat some some. I long for the day when I will carry mine and my hubby-friend’s wee-one.
The long and short of it is…in everything that I do, I have since come to learn that it is so much easier to be grateful for what you have, I lost two friends over the past weekend…so I would like to take this opportunity to say how grateful I am to have met you, albeit digitally, and some part of me wants you to know that I care for you,
enough said,
till next time,
easy does it 🙂

9 thoughts on “Learn to be content (2)

    1. from the description he was a rather accomplished insomniac…tell me something about him that isn’t talked about in the article, for instance, was he humble?

    1. Am I in love? I don’t know anymore. I like the fact that he doesn’t ogle me, he laughs at my jokes, and I at his, I’m comfortable whenever he’s around…I know I’m enjoying this time in my life, I do wonder sometimes, what he thinks about it all…sigh( smile on my lips, wee twinkle in my eye, lotm-laugh out to myself)

  1. hmmmm kakazi, you not telling ? but if you in love again good and if not, still good, there is no need to rush anything really, life is here to be enjoyed. whcih friends did you lose? mugabe? was he he one of your freinds too?

    1. Thank you @ lulu, not in love, in no hurry. Lost Mugabe and Wananda, amazing individuals.
      @ Sleek, appreciate the remark
      @ B2B thanks Dude

Leave a Reply

