The path to the throne (6)

‘…I have found David…a man after My own heart…’ Acts 13:22

The life of David could be captioned in these words: ‘I love God supremely, and there’s nothing He asks of me that I won’t do.’ Can you say that? Everybody dies, but not everybody fully lives. The Bible says, ‘These are the last words of David…’ (2 Samuel 23:1 NLT). A man’s last words are considered to be some of his most important words. During his lifetime one of David’s sons raped his sister, a different son killed another, his wife turned her back on him, his best friend betrayed him, they took his kingdom, his mentor tried to kill him, his family rejected him and he spent a lot of time hiding in caves. Now he’s going to speak to us one last time. What will he talk about? Goliath, Saul, Bathsheba? No, listen: ‘David, the man who was raised up so high, David, the man anointed by the God of Jacob, David, the sweet psalmist of Israel. The Spirit of the Lord speaks through me; his words are upon my tongue. The God of Israel spoke. The Rock of Israel said to me: “The one who rules righteously, who rules in the fear of God, is like the light of morning at sunrise, like a morning without clouds, like the gleaming of the sun on new grass after rain.”‘ Is it not my family God has chosen? Yes, he had made an everlasting covenant with me. His agreement is arranged and guaranteed in every detail. He will ensure my safety and success’ (2 Samuel 23:1-5 NLT). These words were recorded in Scripture for those of us who are less than perfect, but whose hearts never cease to hunger for God.
http://www.ucb.co.uk/word_for_today

Been doing some thinking…and I’m going to revert back to this and promises made before,
to do with talking, or should I say, writing about the exam, the relationship arena, now the prospect of moving out of home,
and having to battle withΒ  Miss Goody-Two-Shoes on my right shoulder that tells me to stay home,
after all a good girl is found at home and only leaves when her husband comes to pick her from her parents home.
Miss-Dare-Devil on my left shoulder says to stop being a scaredy-cat and announce to the folks that I am leaving home, and let them deal with the shock…she rationalises that they’ll get over it.

The exam was amazing….like a warrior in ancient times, read gladiator, I walk into an arena filled with blood-hungry spectators,
not sure what to expect as I flip the question paper open…
Section A was like an oponent, who had all these shadow partners, mean looking…I was sure they could hear my pounding heart beat audibly through my breast-plate…the horror at my inability to even fathom how i begin to take on even just one of the questions…

But the battle isn’t on yet…we’ve been given time to size each other up. Did i mention that Section A and his colleagues show no sign of being moved by my presence. I begin to reminisce about my back-up buddies(all those discussions, the random pointers that the lecturer threw at us during lectures…). I take a step and some around the arena, when to my utter relief, appears Section B…familiar faces I can tell, I know these guys, and they’re on my side.

The battle has been raging on for the last 2hours and 40minutes…my side is winning, we have lost some comrades to Section A, but their death is made up for by Section B’s and my conquests on the battle field that evening.
…to be continued πŸ˜€
till next time,
easy does it πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “The path to the throne (6)

  1. You wouldn’t believe i saw you on Sunday..lol, but service had already started so i couldn’t scream… πŸ™‚
    i never looked at an exam like that before.
    I know you excelled though!!!!
    What paper was it?

Leave a Reply

