…were you grateful for your health today?

When I got up this morning, I didn’t anticipate the feverish spells I’d be experiencing towards the end of my working day. I’m torn between making a stop by the clinic to have a blood smear tested for malaria, and going to YMCA for the Zone V basketball face-offs between the Ugandan and foreign teams. There’s no emergency, however, I must admit, I feel rather terrible. This too will pass.

I’m looking for a second opinion. I took out a loan from work, payable over the space of 6 months. The problem I’m having to deal with now, is that, when my pay check came through today, my expendable balance is a third of my usual accesible balance. Like all things, there’s a side B to this dilema, I have a check coming through in the mail from one of the side jobs I do, that will be paying twice the amount of money I took out on loan from work.
Question: Should I pay back the lumpsum balance on my loan at one go, and have my usual salary expenditure back to what it used to be (which would make it easier for me), or should I open an investment account elsewhere using that incoming check, and pay back on my work loan and settle for that lees than is comfortable salary balance after all the deductions have been made?

Would be nice to hear back from you,
till next time,
easy does it ๐Ÿ™‚

Donโ€™t lose your peace

‘You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You’ ISAIAH 26:3
One of the greatest promises in the Bible is, ‘You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.’ Who are you trusting to solve the problem, God or yourself? You need to live by the principle ‘Do your best, then let God do the rest.’ Too many of us have the idea that it’s wrong to enjoy ourselves while we have problems. We grow up believing that if we can’t do anything else, the least we can do is worry, act stressed out and be miserable. The Bible addresses this: ‘Do not [for a moment] be frightened…for such [constancy and fearlessness] will be a clear sign…from God’ (Philippians 1:28 AMP). This Scripture teaches us that when adversity comes (and it will) we must stay in peace. Satan doesn’t know what to do with us when he can’t get us upset; we’ve taken a powerful weapon out of his hands. ‘For such [constancy and fearlessness] will be a…sign…from God.’ Keeping your peace doesn’t exempt you from life’s difficulties, it just allows God to have the last word. By trusting Him completely you are no longer at the mercy of circumstances, other people, or your own emotions and limitations. Somebody quipped, ‘In times like these it’s helpful to remember that there have always been times like these.’ The question is not will trouble come, but how will you handle it? The writer to the Hebrews says, ‘…We which have believed do enter into rest…’ (Hebrews 4:3). When things go wrong do what God leads you to do, then rest in Him and watch Him work on your behalf!
http://www.ucb.co.uk/word_for_today

6 thoughts on “…were you grateful for your health today?

  1. How long will it take you to pay back the loan if you defer it? If it’s a few months left and you can live with the reduced salary (after the loan payment has been deducted) I’d say take that lumpsum and invest it.

    It’s not everyday you get a huge chunk of money. At least the investment will earn you some money in the future, and you were going to pay off the loan using your salary anyway.

    If things are tight, and the loan is a big burden, pay off the loan and keep your mind at peace.

    On a side note, I’ve missed too many Zone IV matches already!

    Howdy, Walker.

  2. Excellent words in the post Walker…
    and SoloDawgKing took it to school!

    But,
    what you could do to ease your mind is ask if the chaps at work will allow you to reduce the loan payment!
    if yes, then get some cash money from your new cheque, and add it on the loan payment. So that it can reduce your loan payments from the monthly pay cheque….

    and then scout around for a decent investment that you are confident about. Read about it, ask around for more info and then tuck that balance on the safe investment Walker…

    then chill and clear the loan from work with a reduced monthly amount…

    Then call me for drinks at steakout next Thursday…
    i am fully available…
    kawa?

    1. Gentlemen, thank you for the word of advice…will definitely give it all some thought and then make an informed decision ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

